NFL's 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees Announced

NFL’s 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees Announced


Winner to be revealed at NFL Honors before Super Bowl LIV

The 32 player nominees for the sixth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – WARRICK DUNN, Pro Football Hall of Famer CURTIS MARTINKARL MECKLENBURG, and LEONARD WHEELER – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 13.

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

2018 QB Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
2017 LB Luke Kuechly Carolina Panthers
2016 RB Frank Gore Indianapolis Colts
2015 CB Charles Woodson Oakland Raiders
2014 WR Larry Fitzgerald Arizona Cardinals

The winner, selected by the vote of the players, will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 1 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LIV. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.


Arizona Cardinals C A.Q. Shipley   Los Angeles Chargers LB Thomas Davis Sr.
Atlanta Falcons WR Julio Jones   Los Angeles Rams S Eric Weddle
Baltimore Ravens QB Lamar Jackson   Miami Dolphins C Daniel Kilgore
Buffalo Bills LB Lorenzo Alexander   Minnesota Vikings DE Danielle Hunter
Carolina Panthers RB Christian McCaffrey   New England Patriots WR Matthew Slater
Chicago Bears DB Kyle Fuller   New Orleans Saints T Terron Armstead
Cincinnati Bengals DE Sam Hubbard New York Giants DL Dalvin Tomlinson
Cleveland Browns RB Nick Chubb New York Jets DL Steve McLendon
Dallas Cowboys CB Byron Jones   Oakland Raiders QB Derek Carr
Denver Broncos LB Von Miller   Philadelphia Eagles QB Carson Wentz
Detroit Lions QB Matthew Stafford   Pittsburgh Steelers RB James Conner
Green Bay Packers CB Tramon Williams   San Francisco 49ers T Joe Staley
Houston Texans QB Deshaun Watson   Seattle Seahawks LB K.J. Wright
Indianapolis Colts WR T.Y. Hilton   Tampa Bay Buccaneers LB Lavonte David
Jacksonville Jaguars DL Calais Campbell   Tennessee Titans C Ben Jones
Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes   Washington Redskins RB Adrian Peterson


%d bloggers like this: